Tags

, , , ,

Today was my day off and I thought I’d try something new. I found a recipe for Passionfruit Curd Sponge Cakes which sounded lovely and fresh (a great way to kid yourself its a healthy treat if there’s fruit involved!)

I started by making the passionfruit curd (which needs 3 hours to set in the fridge)

  • 2 Eggs, Lightly beaten
  • Pulp of 4 Passion Fruits
  • 110g Caster Sugar
  • 125g Unsalted Butter chopped

I put all the ingredients into a heatproof bowl and set resting over simmering water in a pan. Stir occasionally to start with the encourage the butter to melt and the ingredients to combine. As the temperature rose I started to stir continuously (for approximately 10mins in total) until the mixture starts to coat the back of the spoon.

I sat the bowl to cool next to the window before putting it into the fridge to cool for 3 hours.

Next I went to make the sponges and followed the recipe provided in the book and I was hopeful because it sounded and looked so light in the book.

  • 3 Eggs
  • 110g Caster Sugar
  • 110g Self Raising Flour
  • 20g Butter
  • 60ml Boiling Water

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees (160 fan assisted) and grease and flour a 12 hole friand pan (or deep muffin pan).

Beat the eggs with an electric mixer in a bowl until thick and creamy and then gradually beat in with the mixer the caster sugar, ensuring the sugar has fully dissolved between additions. Fold in the sifted flour then combined butter with the boiling water.

Divide the mixture between the pan holes and bake for around 12min. When cooked quickly turn out onto a wire rack covered with greaseproof paper.

Now this is where I went wrong. They looked nicely risen in the oven and when I stuck one with a knitting needle it came out clean. As I turned them out onto the wire rack they all halved in-depth. Turning them back over the half which were on the left side of my oven were under cooked (I will certainly now remember to test both sides with the needle next time) and all had a dense, pappy base.

I’m putting it down to a combination of beating the eggs too much and possibly my oven now playing up (thank-goodness I have a baking enthusiast mother who will happily let me use her kitchen).

On the plus side the passionfruit curd has set nicely and this will now be turned into a healthier dessert with low-fat yogurt.

 

